Review: The Traitor Baru Cormorant

Posted: September 3, 2015 in Books
Tags: , , ,

The Traitor Baru Cormorant
The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I put this book down feeling as though I’d been slapped in the face and, in a sense, I had.

The Traitor is an exquisitely well-written book, with brilliant characterization and a wonderful world that I would like to know more about (will there be a sequel? Please, please say there will be a sequel!) and a main character who is possibly the single most untrustworthy character I have ever met.

I’m not even sure if I mean that as a compliment. I am, in fact, not sure if I liked this book. I don’t like to be lied to, and I don’t like feeling like I’ve been tricked, and by the time I put it down, I felt that both those things had happened.

On the other hand, if there is a next Baru Cormorant story, I will be begging to read it. I will be camping in front of the publisher’s office just to make sure I have my copy as soon as humanly possible.

I haven’t been this conflicted about a character since…um. I don’t think I’ve ever been this conflicted about a character.
I think I’m in love with Baru Cormorant.

The Traitor Baru Cormorant will be available on 15 September from Amazon.com here

It will also apparently be published as The Traitor on September 24 here (I like this cover much better personally)

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

